Categories
translations Uncategorized

Chapter 3 – She who wished to be happy – Part 3

**Hi, will be changing Origa, [my] Father, [my] Mother, and [my] Brother to : Olga, Otou-sama, Okaa-sama and Onii-sama from here onwards ^^ Also this is a work in progress as you can see, just posting this and editting later as I finish the last parts. Enjoy! Sorry for the delay, I’ll no longer do any puzzles cause my mind is already being overheated as it is :v Editting is done!**

Being a child of a mage known to be the strongest of them all, it is only natural to expect the same path from him.

In fact, for one to be a talented person, one must be birthed from another talented person, as proven by blood lines. Unless they have reached a certain end for some reasons, 

And it’s not like they don’t have the ability to try and keep producing a child, as they wished for it to be stronger than the last.

While the king took advantage of their wishes and instigated them more.

「 Eventually, after being pressured by the royal family, she* had to give birth to you…… She was still happy despite it all.」

*apparently あの子 is a term of endearment, and not actually a child in this case lol gomen, will be editting the last chapters after i actually finish this one

Okaa-sama’s body was terribly weak. Her lifeforce must have been decreased a lot after giving birth to me.

But if his daughter is still incompetent, then he would not want another one, was what Otou-sama had said.

However, the child that was born had an overflowing mana that broke their scales, and the intellect she has is unusual for her age―― Of course, the clan was overjoyed, and approached Okaa-sama with the intent for her to bear another one.

「If only you were a little bit more incompetent than that Guilford, we wouldn’t need him. We wouldn’t need another one too. You really are a troublesome child.」

「……I still have no idea why I took over instead of Onii-sama.」

As if wondering why I still did not understand, Otou-sama laughed.

「It’s simple, really. “The little sister has powers. So the brother must have the same ability, but has yet to awaken it.” Do you really not believe the elders will not have that line of thinking?」

However, Gil-sama just used his powers to feed himself, knowing he would not awaken the same powers as us. But because of my birth, Gil-sama’s poor but happy and carefree life has become twisted.

It really is my fault.

……No, this is what should happen in the original.

Everything is happening just as planned, to be【Olga】’s background story.

That’s why the story has gone haywire because of【 me 】. However, an uncomfortable feeling in the pit of my stomach has begun to make itself known to the point that I can no longer ignore it.

「Okaa-sama…… knew as well?」

It was all for Okaa-sama, is what he said.

But that gentle person did those things, even though she wished for my happiness. They used Gil-sama

To think they felt so burdened by Olga― by me― that he even used another child.

「It might not be her who told you, but you’ve already noticed right?」

Using and tormenting a little child just to prolong her life.

The Okaa-sama I saw in my memories, who always gives me a gentle smile, is being distorted.

The mother* who used to visit【me】, who smiles at me, who encourages me, and the mother who never showed her face in her last days, has her face now shrouded in fog, no longer visible to me.

Aah, in the end, Okaa-sama’s the same as them towards me too huh.

(*she switched from calling her Okaa-sama(my mom) to just calling her Hahaoya(a mother))

「You are all so selfish…」

Otou-sama chuckled silently, as if mocking the words coming from me and said “I don’t want to hear it from you, who has been living as she pleases”

Clenching my fists till they turn white, my eyelids heat up and the back of my throat becomes hot. However, the hateful words I want to say got stuck in the back of my throat and never came out.

And then suddenly, Otou-sama, who hasn’t uttered a single word, stood up and extinguished one of the candlesticks.

The light source we have is limited in this enclosed room, so just putting out one of them makes the room much darker.

Right now, I can’t even light one of those candlesticks by myself, so I wonder what he’s planning to do.

But before I could ask what he’s up to, a low voice slowly filled the room.

「Now that the sun has set, let’s get down to business.」

(to defeat, the huns–i’m sorry)

Business huh.

The real reason why Otou-sama even came to this place.

But based on the conversation earlier, I already understood what it’s about.

In any case, there is no good reason for why this person is visiting me now.

Because they are the kind of people who live their lives using others for their own sake.

What would he do if he heard that his daughter, who was no longer able to use magic, was being kept in captivity?

「For what reason did Keika guide you here? Is it to kill me?」

「There’s no way your little attendant could have done all of this by herself.」

Upon asking him in such a desperate voice, he mockingly said “You’re dumber than I thought.”.

Waving his finger and putting out another candlestick, he said that the surveillance in this dilapidated house is very strict.

As the lights in the room gradually dimmed, Otou-sama lowered his voice to talk, as if he was revealing a secret.

「Right now, this clan is divided between those who want you dead, and those who want to keep you alive. I got a request from one of them.」

How foolish. When the thought came that it was the faction who wanted me dead, a sneer appeared from my downcast face.

No matter how hard they try, the characters will never understand. That I am the villain, the hero’s counterpart.

Unlike the nameless ones, my death is already 【set】and the hero will always be the harbinger.

No matter what I do, I will survive, like what happened to the battlefield. Until the day Gil-sama slays me himself.

But father looked and smiled at me, and took the conversation in another direction

Your doctor has already made a diagnosis, and well, “you’ll never know unless you try” is what they’re thinking」

As I recall――”my vessel was beyond repair” was what the doctor had diagnosed.

Meaning, all my value and role as a sorcerer has been lost.

I can understand if they weren’t willing to believe the diagnosis and ask for a second opinion but―― “you’ll never know unless you try?”

With suspicions, I look up at Otou-sama with questions written on my face, however, he smiled sweetly and said in a low voice:

「They told me to stay here until tomorrow morning――you know what that means, right?」

A doctor’s diagnosis

Trying to see how everything will work out.

Those words from the caretakers

A remote and dilapidated place where no one goes.

Until tomorrow morning comes, no one will come here.

A room that is gradually getting darker.

A man, closing in.

「You can refuse all you want, however, do you think you can reject me now?」

A beautiful face that resembles my own, lips so charming that it makes resistance futile.

Those words, their meaning, is giving me goosebumps.

special thanks to Jisho.org for helping me translate everything and making me learn jp easier! now let me go disappear again for xx months—-

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

8 replies on “Chapter 3 – She who wished to be happy – Part 3”

aaaaaaaaaaaaaa just posting it herre so you guys have an idea where the progress is so far, will be editting this post directly today for edits and translations left

Like

oh my gosh I did not expect that… I really thought he was trying to kill her or something. Gil save her! Someone! Or herself! I hope she really doesn’t have to go through this.
Thanks for translating! And happy very belated new year!

Liked by 1 person

Omg just continue reading this after long time, it’s really the worst cliffhanger, the curiosity is killing me aah..!

Like

Leave a comment