Categories
translations

Chapter 3 – She who wished to be happy – Part 2

「…….All this time, I’ve been wondering.」

I tried reading his face while I organized my thoughts carefully. Seeing me like this however, father just smirked and chuckled, which urged me to continue. 

「”Why did you bring my older brother to this family?”」

Hearing those words, a flicker of surprise flashed in father’s eyes. Seeing that, my heart skipped a beat.

That’s right.

A mage’s prowess must be trained in one’s childhood. So in the first place, he should be the first person to know that Gil-sama’s affinity with fire magic is nonexistent.

And also, even if the possibility is low, if a child is born with fire affinity, the Luzilles will take action and claim the child as their own.

With the way Gil-sama was, there is no doubt that he would not have been accepted if it was proven that he has no affinity for fire magict. But despite being the case, he was accepted to the family for as long as I gained my memories back. And it would have been too late to start honing his powers as a water mage at that point.

「”…..Is that all you want to know?”」

「”Yes”」

Regardless of what I will come to know of now, I won’t be able to do anything anyway. 

By being born as Origa, I became the mastermind behind everything.

Thinking about it, the only thing I didn’t come to know about is the incidents that surrounded the Hero. In any case, it was already predetermined that my future is to be killed by Gil-sama. Death shall no longer be a regret if I were to learn everything I didn’t get a chance to in my former life.

Nodding and pondering what to say, father’s contenance switched to that of uneasiness and frowned. Then, with the same emotionless face I once saw, muttered:

「”If only you weren’t born, I wouldn’t have taken ‘that’ to this family.”」

I’m very sorry.

Father looked like he was deep in thought and continued to weave his words together.

「”I knew that her body was very frail. She too, experienced the same thing as you in your age, falling into a terrible situation.”」

I once heard that Father worked as Mother’s vassal back in the imperial castle.

Mother’s body had always been frail, even from before. However, this is the first time I’ve heard that she also fell in the same precarious state as me.

「”She shouldn’t expect a child in such a state, nor did anyone expect her to. But she…Her relationship with His Majesty is not good, and without considering all these, she was forced to be married off.”」

Unaware of everything else, he continued to weave the tale which is all news to me, with him not noticing the endearing way he calls my mother. His nostalgic words doesn’t seem to match his character, with his affections oozing out 

「”She should not bear a child, therefore I worked hard to raise my merits and gained more achievements, and wished for her hand in marriage.”」

In order for a vassal to ask a princess’s hand in marriage, a great deal of achievements is necessary. So in order to help mother, father defeated the then head of Luzille and became its leader, and led the clan to the battlefield as a mage. (*since the father is a knight, and not a mage)

I, no, every mage knows of my father’s achievements.

He fought enough battles to be called the strongest mage; he revived the dying military front, and he managed to gain a ceasefire from the other camp.

All for the sake of saving my mother.

There was no mention of this in the original story..

「“I was sure father and mother were in a political marriage.”」

「“Aah, it’s foolish to expect love in our situation.  Neither that child nor I harbour any romantic feelings for each other. I would be happy for her, regardless of who she marries.”」

Such words coming from his mouth that sounded like “Since that child has no other supporters other than me at that time, I became the most suitable one for her” was abruptly cut short.

「”I too wanted to have a child, and besides, it was also my duty to have one. So I had an affair with another woman and have her give birth to it but… it didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped.”」

And the result of that affair is a mage lacking in fire affinity, Guilford.

Edit: I guess the NU link is not linking to the flyleaf page to stop the aggregators from copying this chapter, oh well. Just gonna reiterate what I said in that page.
Since I have stopped studying japanese grammar, the translation of this chapter may seem awkward. For that, I appreciate any comments on translation mistakes I may have had on this chapter. Let’s learn all together!

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

8 replies on “Chapter 3 – She who wished to be happy – Part 2”

hi! No i’m not 🙂 i’m just really busy these days and I haven’t been studying japanese again, I have part 3 translated halfway already thought so I will try my best to finish it one of these days haha. Thanks for stopping by!

Like

Leave a comment