Categories
Uncategorized

Chapter 6 Part 4 – Those who repent

Everything will be over once the 【hero】kills me.

How? Since when did you start to notice?

The marks I have personally embedded in your heart, covering it up in flashier burns so no one would notice, how on earth did you notice them?

――The matter of……me never being able to kill him.

I mixed in some imprints when I branded him with the marks of exile. This magic circle contains protection magic.

A magic circle that negates the attacks of those weaker than the one who engraved it. But since I was the one who branded him, it will be an invincible shield that will protect him from any fire magic for a lifetime.

Once given, no one will be able to remove it. Even if I were to be in the peak of my prime, I will be unable to remove it.

“I’m aware of everything.” said Gil-sama.

「The day I was exiled from the Luzilles was the day you gave this to me. And no matter how much you provoked me, you never intended to kill me in the first place.」

“Just like how Keika-san burned one in your palm.” With those words, my eyes naturally fall down to my own.

I conjured my fire magic without applying any protection on my skin earlier, and yet there was not a scratch anywhere.

This was inscribed by her while she hopes― begs for me to live.

Even now, my powers have diminished and my mana depleted.

Back then, I did the same thing. Burning the same thing to my onii-sama―― Wishing for him to live.

「..That’s not….I was…」

With my words of denial comes unsightly feelings I’ve been trying to bury deep in my heart.

That’s right. I…

The truth is.

Never in my wildest expectations did I…Would I…want to protect Gil-sama from the start.

I was just really afraid I might kill Gil-sama.

I truly wished he would live, so he can stop and kill me for my heinous crimes.

That was all my intention, and nothing else.

His burn and the one engraved on my hand have completely different meanings―― That was what I thought, but Keika’s wish came to mind.

The desire to keep on living was not different.

「You’ve changed a lot.」

「Gil, Olga’s just—」
「I know,  she didn’t have a choice right?」

I heard a shuffling sound behind me, as if Atlas was standing up, but I didn’t bother looking and checking behind me.

Looking up at onii-sama, I noticed how big he became. His body is so big that looking at him made me tremble a bit.

「I heard everything from Keika-san, all about what happened to your body. I couldn’t believe the medical report she gave me. So while you were asleep, I took the liberty to personally examine your body. And because of that… I was convinced. I purposely let you use magic earlier.」

Gil-sama won’t even look at me.

But his words have a clear purpose in them.

An overwhelming intent that pressures you without looking in his eyes.

「You…aren’t a mage anymore――― You won’t be able to kill anyone with magic anymore.」

The last bit of magic that I had, was eventually absorbed by the same magic circle I have applied myself on him, to be used in case of emergency.

I can’t even let 【Olga】 stay a mage anymore.

She won’t be a threat to the protagonist anymore.

「Your “vessel” is broken. No matter how well you do, your body will last only about ten years…… You’re no longer a mage, you’re powerless now. There’s no point in killing you here.」

His voice sounds like otou-sama, clear and unfeeling.

His emotionless words implied that he will let me continue to live.

This is the result of people urging for me to not be killed.

Because there are people who do not wish for me to die, this is the result of it.

――But this also means that I will be carrying the weight of the sins I have committed on my back.

This is wrong.

This is wrong, it has to be. It has to be, it has to be.(original is a continuous “違う” but i edited the rest to make sense”)

This is wrong, it’s not my fault.

This is what the story dictated, this is necessary for it to develop.

This isn’t my fault.

I’m not a bad person.

Everything, all of this. Everything is for onii-sama.

From the story, it’s progress, my role, my sins, my death, everything is for onii-sama alone――― It’s not my fault.

「Even if my powers are gone, I still have my arms. If not, I still have my legs. I can still kill you… If you don’t kill me, I will kill you.」

That’s right.

I’m still alive.

Everything will be over once the 【hero】kills me.

Trivial inconsistencies in the story don’t matter anymore.

Even without using magic, I can still provoke Gil-sama in numerous ways for him to kill me. With my words, or actions, anything I can use.

It doesn’t matter if he gets injured a little, he can recuperate using healing magic anyway.

I’ll do anything. I’ll do anything I can to murder you.

If he still insists on being a goody-two-shoes and refuses to kill me, if he still insists on not fulfilling the role of the hero――― then so be it.

「I’ll kill you. Even if someone tries to stop me, with poison, with a knife, with anything, I will kill you. I’ll kill you. I’ll kill you, I’ll murder you.」
「Say Olga, do you really wish to kill me?」

Of course.

What kind of justice is it when the villains are not killed?

I didn’t live like this to support such a worthless hero.

If you didn’t move forward and trample my corpse and face the world, what point is there to 【my】existence? 

What point is there to my actions if that is not the case?

I tightly held my trembling arm, and glared at Gil-sama as if I could kill him, but he just looked at me as if he understood my gaze, and spoke in a flat voice.

「Alright then.」

Gil-sama turned around and looked down at me, his eyes horrifyingly devoid of any emotions.

Why―― How come this person looks like this?

Surprise painted my whole body.

A hero should not look like this.

They should be more emotional, their eyes should be, no matter the time of the day, filled with hope inside. They should be shining so brightly that it encourages everyone; Looking towards the future no matter the circumstances.

And yet, this person is…

This unfeeling person who looked like he has abandoned all his emotions somewhere, who the hell is he?

「A lot has happened ever since the day I entered Luzille to help you. There were numerous things I’ve always wondered about, and learned more things I didn’t know about.」

Gil-sama is the hero.

If he wishes to know about something, he will surely know about it someday.

If he doesn’t know about something, it will certainly be shown before your eyes someday.

Anything that’s necessary for him to move forward, he will surely grasp it in his hands.

「I’ve made a lot of companions, and acquired sufficient military strength. In order to block Luzille’s movements, we had to move as well. The truth is, I had plenty of chances and reasons to help you, however――」

His handsome face gave a tender impression, but his unmoving eyes emit an icy disposition.

Gil-sama tried to curve his lips to form a smile, but in the end he was unable to and his face created a distorted expression.

Like a worthless clown who couldn’t even make anybody laugh, failing to bring light to someone’s heart; A smile devoid of anything.

「You were right……You were someone who should be dead, that’s what I thought as well.」

“I’m leaving you be(to die), this is the path I chose for you.” And with that, the righteous protagonisthero smiled a crooked smile while his beautiful verdant eyes looked down as if he was in repentance.

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

4 replies on “Chapter 6 Part 4 – Those who repent”

Leave a comment