Categories
Uncategorized

Chapter 7.1 – Those who changed the world

The more people I kill, the more (people) the hero saves.

「I wanted to save as many lives as I could. That’s why when I found out I have the talent for water magic, I was over the moon. I was ecstatic thinking that “I wouldn’t need to hurt someone to save another”, I could protect them without having to resort to bloodshed……I was so excited to be of help for you.」(original said smth like I don’t need to kill someone to protect another but i just reworded it)

Salvation for everyone without the need to kill――This is 【Guildford】’s ideology.

It was this advocacy that kept the story moving towards a happy ending.

A story where no one except the villain dies.

As long as Gil-sama keeps believing this creed, he will be the protagonist.

However, Gil-sama’s words continue to pour out.

「……To hear news about you and the crimes you have committed, I was horrified by them all. As long as you have the means to use your magecraft, you will continue to slaughter everyone. Even if they were someone who won’t retaliate, you won’t bat an eye.」

「That was…. I have my own reasons for that.」

The words I squeezed out were rough, but my voice was somehow able to convey it.

My existence has a purpose; a necessity for the protagonist to move forward.

The more people I kill, the more (people) the hero saves.

And then undoubtedly, it will lead to a “happy ending” with everyone rejoicing.

That’s why, I need not retreat. In fact, even if I didn’t kill all those mages, there were countless other scenarios where they would eventually die.

Cruel as it may be, inhumanly unforgivable even; I proceed to walk down this road without looking back, knowing that this is the correct path(story).(original said smth along the lines of I continued this path ‘cause the story is right)

Perhaps noticing my silent protest, Gil-sama dropped his hand from his face and smiled at me, his face as calm as a still lake.

「I see. I doubt I have enough words to stop you. ――nor even be able to forgive you.」

This is an emotion that would not, should not exist in a hero.

Resignation is something【Guilford】would not embrace.

No matter how much it pains him, Guilford will never give up on stopping his little sister.

He will continue to believe that everyone is inherently good, that everyone can understand each other. (original said smth continue moving to believe everyone sis good and understand)

And yet, this person.

「So I ran away. If only Keika didn’t inform me… If only Atlas hadn’t been there, I would surely have left you alone in that place. All while knowing how you were going to be used there. 」

「………That’s…」

――A predetermined future where I won’t die, but instead will be used as sustenance by the whole clan.(basically she’ll be like livestock for ehm….producing more mages)

No, it can’t be.

That’s not right, this person, it can’t be.

【Guilford Ivlis】is not this kind of person.

He would have tried to save me at all costs.

No matter how grave her crime is, he would save his little sister.

He would try and protect (my) pride as a human being.

Unable to speak, I looked into his eyes, and Gil-sama’s expression slightly stiffened.

「I honestly never wanted to treat your burns(injuries). I even wished you would die already, seeing you so weak and in pain in your nightmare.」

“But”, he said, looking over to Atlas while smiling. “Here we are.”(original said smth like, this is what happened)

「…..It was such a terrible idea. I made the decision to leave you to die so easily, even though I hated the idea of leaving you behind so much. I was so reluctant to kill you with my own hands because I couldn’t stop you with my own thoughts, and I hoped you would die someplace I didn’t know about, somewhere I wouldn’t have to worry about you–」

Trying to fathom his thoughts, his words suddenly cut mid-sentence and bent down a little and reached out his hand to me.

Cool fingers touch my cheek faster than my body can move to avoid them. The fingers that caressed my cheek feel alive.

They are neither simple descriptions or pictures from a book, nor are they simple possessions of the protagonist.

This fact adds to my confusion.

This is, in fact, reality.

「For a long time, I admired you for your strength and straightforwardness. No matter how unacceptable your choices were to me, you were always right.」

What was there in me to admire?

I’m merely just a character that acts as a foil to 【Guilford】’s beliefs

Even if I am pitied, or my actions were a cause of bewilderment, my existence should not be a target of admiration.

It is the protagonist’s role to condemn my atrocious acts.

He should never acquit me of my crimes, nor think they are right.

「To me, you are like an invincible wall. Ever since I was a child, you are someone I can never hope to reach.* But right now, I can easily grasp you with these hands. I can even– 」(the original was “you are my dream” but i felt it didn’t match the flow, so i changed it)

His expression didn’t quiver, however, his voice betrayed him, sounding as if he was crying.

Cold fingers descend to my throat.

One, two, three.


TL Notes:
Hiii! Sorry about not updating, was trying to translate it in another way, so you will notice a change from this chapter and the last ones. It takes time but i hope to make the translation flowier.(if it makes sense) again, sorry about the long inactivity!


By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

Leave a comment