Categories
Uncategorized

Chapter 2 – She who had betrayed -Part 3

I will be editing this chapter because there is a lot and I mean, a LOT of mistakes translating this from the original source and was too wordy (blame me and my lack of better judgement orz) , and shying away from the source material. Please bear with me, thanks!

“I brought you some food”

After a metallic “clang”, a woman steps inside the room, carrying an early dinner.

She looked at the man waiting behind her, with him locking the door behind them, and a scowl appearing on his face.

The man locked the door from the inside, pursed his lips and leaned against the door to watch over and make sure I didn’t run away.

The woman just pretends to not see what happened and continues to do her job in silence.

The meal served to me in silence is luxurious as usual. However, I have no one to share this meal with.

“Did something happen today?”

“Nothing that Olga-sama should be concerned about.”

Since the day I have been confined in this house, I don’t know how many times I’ve heard her immediate reply already.

The first few days I was confined, I had been asking around about what the clan’s standing were, about what’s been going on outside, about the tides of war, but all of these questions went unanswered. 

They were probably given orders about not letting me take even a single step outside, nor give me any information I ask.

Some caretakers expressed their sympathies but did not give me the answers I needed, the next day however, they no longer appeared in this remote house.

After that, I just repeated my questions like a parrot, and no longer expected to receive a proper response.

I just moved and ate in silence until I finished my meal.

The caretaker earlier got her hand busy retrieving sheets, changing my dirty clothes and refilling my water, while the man kept eyeing my movements the whole time.

If I slow down my movements even a little bit, they would ask what’s wrong and check if the food is poisoned.

I found all those things bothersome so I just continued to eat slowly.

I don’t think I’ve eaten in this tense atmosphere since the days I was eating with Otou-sama.

As I was absentmindedly finishing my meal, the caretaker caught my attention with her strict-sounding voice.

“Now then, Olga-sama, please give me your hands.”

After covering my hands with her cold palms and absorbing some of my mana, the candlestick she was holding was lit up.

My current abilities are limited to me lighting up this mere candlestick, and even that already makes me feel dreadfully drained. 

The tiny flame flickers as if to mock me, that this is all I can do now. Unable to use my own powers, nor accumulate much mana. A small speck of an existence that can be locked up and restrained easily in this small remote house.

//still editing here from this point onwards

“Tomorrow morning, I.. well- can I..” The caretaker stutters to find words. I can’t judge their expressions as they hide their faces from me, but it is obvious the man is glaring at her. Nevertheless, the man still speaks. 

“Hey.” A single word. A disapproving face. 

The caretaker closes her mouth hesitantly, cutting off the trail of words she wanted to speak with. I raise my head expecting another usual nonchalant reply from either of them, saying it was nothing to worry about, but I only find the man darting his sharp, reproachful glare from the silent woman to me, then turning his head away. The woman sighs heavily as she saw the man’s behaviour towards me, with a quick bow, she excuses herself from me as they turn their backs to leave. 

After accompanying both of them out of the room, I decided to stare at their figures while the door closes in front of me. I hear them let out a muffling sigh of relief as they lock the massive doors from the other side. Seeing them off is indeed unnecessary, but the two of them are the closest source of information I have to what is happening outside of this cage. I am locked in this place for too long that my sense of time has become dull. 

There are no windows in this room, I can only peek at the world beyond this cage through the thin slits of the towering, massive doors, or through the window panes in the hallway when I walk. 

I have no clue on how long they can maintain the situation in the outside world by spouting lies. They can say that I, the head of the flame family is sick and recovering from severe injuries from war, but they cannot fool the people for long. They will start to question for the truth as the flow of time nears the end, by then the clan authorities will have to decide my fate before the people are aware of their plots.

I am the niece of the king, rightful Head of the House of Luzil, revered as the Infernal Princess. In accordance to the laws of my clan, should anyone wish to take my throne as what I have done to my Father at the age of 9, they have to kill me in the ceremonial rite.

However, if a lowly commoner decides to declare their wish to contest me, that fool will receive absolute objections from the royal family, it is only natural after all. 

What gives the fool a right to command my house when royal blood does not course in their veins? On the other hand, the clan cannot simply allow a girl who no longer has powers to represent the Luzil House. To do so would overthrow the underlying laws we have abided for decades of aging time. The clan will have to amend the laws— factions will arise during amendments of the laws, thus disrupting the stability of the house. This concerns every mage in the clan, regardless of their prowess or social standing, whichever faction they choose will only serve to crumble the clan’s foundations. 

“But, im not worried at all.” I thought. 

No matter which faction or which path for the clan is chosen; No matter if their decisions come to tale in the hands of the historical Scribes; There will always be Gil-sama, right? I should not bother about the fate of my clan mages, but how this deviated story will branch and develop. 

I should already be dead in that forest, but I miraculously woke up in a bed. This has enough proof that my existence has a role to fulfill. Surely, the story that I am leading astray is trying to correct itself to its original path, abiding to destiny. There is only one ending to this world, a world plotted with a constant and linear fate, as the endpoint is bound to happen no matter what. However due to my constant interference and deliberate foolishness, the story is now having extra twists and turns, but it won’t be long until it returns to the destined path.

I loved and love this story more than anyone else, cherished it, treasured it. 

And because of that, no one can convince me that I won’t be the happiest girl alive now. Until everything comes to an end, I will live with anticipation, and embrace it with joy, without regrets. 

That is why, Gil-sama–

Quickly, hurry up so I—

My attention trips upon a few knocks on the door, I raise my head to the source of the hollowing echoes. No one should be here at this time, as I should be left alone. The caretaker just left a while ago too. Did they perhaps leave something behind by accident? 

“Who is it?” I bother to ask. 

I wouldn’t be able to answer the door regardless. There are no knobs or handles from my side of the door. It is a one way entry with a locking mechanism on the other side. I know that asking for the person outside is a waste of effort, but it is a habit of mine ever since I got here. 

A voice ever so crisp; ever so familiar, resounds from the other side–

“It’s been a while, Origa-sama.” 

“Keika…” My voice hung in the air. 

The crisp voice belongs to my aide who has not appeared before me ever since the day I emanated hostility at my rescuers. I just thought they didn’t allow anyone to approach me, but it turns out to be just the opposite.

“You-” My words are cut short for the second time. I can not find what I want to say to her.

Keika has to become the next master of my clan, taking over me. As she plunges herself into the new title, she declares she is willing to become the clan’s puppet. She will dance to the whims of the elders, and the clan can use her to waste. She is forced to step up to this responsibility due to my extinguished flames. 

However, I can’t blame her if she decides to distance herself from me with spite. It was all there was between us in a mutual master-servant relationship, and nothing more. 

Yet for her to show up in front of me, under the massive doors that binds me to this sickening cage, a cage that reminds me that I am weak, what is she trying to do? Is she here to condemn me? To scorn me with spite? 

Given all her achievements so far, it’s only natural for her to blame me. I, who imitates the original 【Origa】, playing the persona of 【Origa】 obsessively,  and the person who tries to satisfy the desires that ‘Origa’ holds dearly with diligence, with devotion and with any means necessary. However, where has this brought me to? A princess who lost all of her powers in the process, disregarding the laws of action and consequences completely with her foolishness, as all of it came to this scene. 

In the past, not a single elder had preached their objections with carrols of parrots and swallows, no one dared to defy me. After I could no longer be the seed, the catalyst, the warhorn of raging wars and blazing frontlines, their eyes no longer hold reverence, no longer tremble with fear, but only glazes with shades of unwavering contempt. It is when they look at me that I know without a hint of doubt, of their scrutiny on a princess who lost her powers. 

Even though I know that whatever she can say, or will say, will not change anything because she is still a character of this story, it is still dreadful to hear her contempt face-to-face. Between us is just a single door. Behind these wooden slabs is the person who should be accompanying me all through my life, and whose voice I dread the most to hear.

“A lowly commoner begs for your audience.” However, contrary to my piling fears she speaks with an indifferent, apathetic tone.

At this moment, she should not be able to visit me as the clan authorities are restricting information on my end. Is someone else from the clan accompanying Keika? If that’s the case, the servants would announce their presence already.

Or do they actually want Keika to help me and intervene with my fate?

“–I cannot be with you at the moment. But take your time.” A small voice speaks to her outside.

Keika replies to the voice beyond the door. However that small voice didn’t sound like it was talking to me, rather it was speaking to someone else. The voice is indistinct unlike Keika’s crisp tone, even so, I could tell that it is a man talking.

I wonder what Keika is planning, coming here when the caretaker and invigilator is away, meanwhile bringing someone uninvolved. It won’t be strange if they are executed should my clan find out about this. Nevertheless, they are still here to find me.

Ah, I see. A sense of euphoria floods within me.

Did Keika bring Gil-sama along?

Before I could think of anything else, my powers have disappeared. And it has been a long time since I’ve seen him. Surely he must have heard all of my crimes from Atlas-sama and investigated them with his own eyes. Thus, convinced himself that―― his sister must be punished.

It is already determined in the 【script, and as expected in the 【story】, that Gil-sama will land upon this conclusion of his. 

Right now, since my situation has a drastic change, it would be difficult for us to face each other in battle. This is why he asked Keika for help, so that he can come to this place, this cage.

The me who has killed so many, has become this war’s banner, the symbol of genocide, the one true evil of war and the reason of misdealings of countless nations.

I don’t know how the military will develop and unfold into, but I’m pretty sure that this war will come to an end with my head resting upon silver stakes and guillotine. Whatever people may feel, whatever the entire Luzille’s decision may be, killing someone like me is the only way to pacify everyone’s hatred.

With Gil-sama awakening his magical abilities, he would surely try and save his comrades from dangerous situations. ――As he becomes the hero who saves the world from the villain, I will act as the evil that must be culled in order for this country to progress. It is as ordered by the story, fated and destined.

That’s why–

I shall die here today.

The villain’s role shall finally end. The location of【Origa】’s death is a lot different from the original story but, regardless, her story will finally end.

The locks on the door reopens with a loud clunk.

My feelings about Keika who is beyond this door, the mages guarding the entrance, the king in the imperial capital and all of the mages living in this country–even about the future, I do not care about them anymore.

Because, Gil-sama’s is finally here to kill me.

Everything will be alright, I smile as I welcome them with joy, awaiting the people from beyond this door, wholeheartedly welcoming them but–

“Eh….?” I stop cold.

These aren’t the people who I imagined them to be. 

“It’s been a while, Origa” The man speaks as the door reopens.

It is a man I let live at the age of 9, a man with hair aged to faded bronze yet ever so vibrant, like mine.

It was my father.

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

5 replies on “Chapter 2 – She who had betrayed -Part 3”

Leave a comment