Categories
Uncategorized

I look up and – Chapter 1 – Crimson Feelings

Hello! this is Yuu and I’m pleased to show you my original work! There’s still 2 chapters out but I want to know what your thoughts are about it. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did when writing it!


In a dark alley where death looms about, a girl is pitifully slouched down as she weeps uncontrollably. By her side were two girls lying side by side in a pool of blood. And in front of her was a boy in the same condition. 

“Don’t cry my lady, it’s not your fault.” 

The boy weakly said. Blood was flowing from his mouth, and tears filled his eyes as he tries to comfort the young girl.

“Xiao Qi…Xiao Qi..Xiao Qi…” Cried the girl in between sobs. Her face painted with tears and blood. She grasped the boy’s hand tightly as she weeps continuously.

Rain started to pour and the road is slowly washed away of blood and grime, wetting the residents outside their homes and making the alley more deathly.

“********…I’m sorry” the girl freezes by the words and her sobbing abruptly stops, at the same time, the boy’s breathes his last. Time seemed to stop for the girl as reality dawns upon her. Biting her lower lip, she forced herself not to go on another bout of weeps and just looked down the ground.

Suddenly, a man in his mid-thirties approached the devastated girl. Surprisingly, as if being enveloped in an invisible veil, the man isn’t being wet by the pouring rain.

“Hm?” Hums the man. Surveying the area where the four people’s fate is unknown, he wryly smiles and crouched down to the girl. “It seems like….” His voice being obscured by the pouring rain, the young girl looked up at him and muttered the words “How did you…” The man laughs softly and stood up. He gave the girl a piece of paper and a brush. “Do what you must, leave the rest to me.” The girl frantically writes something in the piece of paper, then suddenly…..

5 years ago

“Cousin Ling, I love you. I’ve loved you since we were little up till now. I love everything about you. Please marry me!” A girl in pale pink dress shouted at Ling Shan, confessing her love. Her skin soft and white, her cheeks dyed pink from either embarrassment or determination, her natural cherry pink lips moist from her teeth biting from them. Her hair tied up in two buns with the ends free flowing on her back. She didn’t wear anything extravagant on her hair, just two ribbons holding her buns.

“Mei-er..” Ling Shan, whose eyebrows are furrowed, looked troubled at his younger cousin. He is wearing a simple pale green robe with white accents. His eyes are arched up like a phoenix’s, with a mole near his right eye. His cherry lips are beautiful to look at and tempting to bite at. His hair is tied up high making him look scholarly yet refined. He sighs deeply and answered his little cousin’s confession.

“I’m glad that you love me Mei-er, I appreciate what you have said. I hope I don’t hurt you, but unfortunately, I don’t have feelings like that for you. I can only see you as my younger sister.”

“Kuh…” Winced Mei-er. “I didn’t know being rejected was this painful.” 

Ling Shan was stunned by her reaction. He almost thought that she became crazy after her rejection. But seeing as she doesn’t look affected too much, he decided to lighten up the mood.

“Haha, I’m really sorry my dear sweet cousin. I could never imagine myself having a family with you.” 

“Gah! Stop! Stop already!” Mei-er dramatically held her ears and crouched down, as if being hit by stones. “Sheesh cousin Ling, you have to be very gentle when rejecting others you know.”

“Hahaha, if I go the gentle route, people will just misunderstand. It’s better to not give them hope.” Ling Shan pulled his cousin up and put his arm around her shoulders. “You sure have guts I can give you that. Let’s go home, I have some business to attend to.”

“Then cousin Ling, now that you’ve rejected me, can I paint you?”

“Of course, but after I finish the matters at home.”

After going home, Mei-er was scolded by her wet nurse for coming back late, then told her to go bathe before having dinner. The manor she lives in is surrounded by peach blossom trees that when they bloom, the scent travels inside, calming the atmosphere and making it worth relaxing. Mei-er had always loved to paint so her room is filled with brushes and paint dyes. Her latest work, “Over the Sunrise” features a silhouette of a young girl sitting on a hill, gazing at the sunrise with the town as her backdrop. Her work isn’t as refined as the masters, but she enjoys painting so much that she doesn’t mind. Some of her works are also asked by her cousin Ling to be hanged on his room as well. 

Mei-er lived in Ling Shan’s manor because her parents died at a young age. His father, Xiao Xing Ze, is Ling Shan’s uncle. Before Mei-er was born, Ling Shan was adored by his uncle. Even thinking of kidnapping him to become his son, and that made his brother beat him up numerous times. When Bai Wu Qing got pregnant with Mei-er, he no longer bothered Ling Shan, which made the latter a bit lonely. After both of them died together with his father, Ling Shan sworn to take care of Mei-er, even taking care of her dowry and marriage.

After public matters are done, Ling Shan went to Mei-er’s manor for her request.

“Cousin Ling! I thought you would never come.” Mei-er pouted her cheeks, which Ling shan poked for fun.

“Mei-er, when did I ever lie to you?”

“I don’t know, maybe that time you said you’d buy me candy but instead bought me the candy stall.”

“You said you wanted to try selling candies someday, so I bought you the cart to start with.”

“Ugh. Or that time you said you wouldn’t force me to bathe, but you dunked me in the pool anyway”

“You were itching badly so I had no choice but to help you get rid of the itch. Cold water is known for-”

“Ah enough enough. This is my manor, so you have to follow my rules. You have to follow what I instruct you to do in my painting!” Mei-er huffs irritatedly.

“Alright alright, what does my little cousin want?”

“Strip.”

“????” Ling Shan was dumbfounded. He held his temple and patiently said “I can’t strip naked, can I at least keep my trousers?”

“What are you talking about? You would need to wear this!” Mei-er showed a red robe embroidered with a snake and an apple. …..It looked like the outfit worn by those brothel workers.

“…..Where did you get this?”

“No questions, just wear it!” Mei-er said, her eyes looking moist, as if she would cry if he were to say another word.

“….” not having any choice, he changed into the robe, while the snake embroidered in it looked at him mockingly.

Indeed, the robe looked like it was made for seduction. The robe is intentionally oversized, giving the feeling of laziness. Ling Shan had to hold the arm area together to keep them from falling and revealing more of his body. But instead of covering himself, it just looked like he was a man ravaged by wolves, cunning, hungry and lustful wolves….. The chest area is slightly open, as if tempting those who look to open it. The leg area is also open, revealing the scars on his white thighs. The scars didn’t taint the entire picture, rather it added to the allure Ling Shan was giving. His face is red as beets and his breathing is unstable, either from embarrassment or the mysterious feeling creeping up from his chest.

“Mei-er isn’t this too much?”

“No buts! I will paint now, so just stand there like that.” And Mei-er just ignored him, and started to paint.

Seconds felt like minutes and minutes felt like hours. Ling Shan was so embarrassed that he could not keep still, allowing Mei-er to come and throw one of her brushes to him so he doesn’t move a lot. Finally, after two hours, the painting is finished and Ling Shan hurriedly changed back to his old clothing.

Mei-er let the canvas dry and cleaned up the place. After changing, Ling Shan went back to Mei-er’s room and asked to see the painting. He was stupefied to see that even though he thought he looked embarrassed wearing those robes, the painting begs to differ. In it, he looks like he was a lover who had lost his love, weeping under the moonlight while hugging his shoulders. His cheeks were flushed, not from embarrassment but from the tears he had shed. The robes in the painting looked desolate even though they were red and lively. It gave him the feeling of pain and loneliness one would experience from loss. The backdrop is that of a forest, glowing cold in the night with the crescent moon enveloped in clouds.

“I want to call it…. Crimson Feelings. How about it cousin Ling?

Ling Shan was still staring at the painting and looked at her. Is this what she felt when he rejected her?

“I know what you’re thinking. Yes, this is what I felt when you rejected me. I use what I feel as fuel to create pieces like this. It’s fun and at the same time, I feel better after making it.”

Ling Shan was silently contemplating all of the pieces she created that are in his hands. One was called Fragrant Desert where a peach blossom tree blows over a sea of sand, layering the sand with blossoms while the sky is tinted in orange and red, showing her innermost emotions being masked by the gentle emotions while hiding her negative ones. and another was Moonlit Demise that she created right after he parents died. It’s a piece where a young woman was kneeling while holding her hands up to the moonlit sky while her hands seemingly turn into dust, showing her loneliness at being left alone by her parents. He just realized that all of her pieces were based on her life story.

“Mm. Is that so? I guess your emotions are used so each and every one of your work feels lifelike. You should enjoy creating more pieces. I will let you paint whatever you desire, just say it.”

“Thank you, cousin Ling.”

The moonlit sky show traces of stars and clouds. While the two people inside the manor face their own emotions and desires.

Chapter 2 here

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

Leave a comment