Categories
Uncategorized

Part 3 – She who mourns

The seniors shouted when they realized who that voice belonged to.

Guilford Ivris.

The first son of the Luzil head, the illegitimate son who awakened as a water magic, her most beloved big brother.

The mages around me looked at each other as if they’re in a predicament and shifted to the side, letting me through. Like the time they have accepted me as the clan head and let me deal with the troubles that come with it. I almost forgot to respond.

The senior mages in the front also moved aside. Because of that, we were able to recognize who that person in front of the gates is.

Atlas, Gil-sama, and a few young soldiers whom I recognize are behind them—they are the future heroes who will bring salvation to this country.

“…Even if she becomes useless, this Marquis of Harvester will take full responsibility for her! Cover for me, Gil-sama!”

Suddenly, tree roots began sprouting from the ground as Atlas put his hands to the ground.

Behind them a vicious fog began to appear, making the mages around me panic.

Regardless of earth magic, water is fire’s natural weakness. And a young man who can wield water magic that grew up in the presence of fire magic around him, so he wasn’t afraid.

The flame’s weakness, as well as the prior knowledge of the mansion’s structure, makes it easy for them to use magic effectively.

The fireballs they cast just dissipate in the air into mist as wind and water magic counter them.

Meanwhile, the trees that caught the other mages and entangle around their bodies suddenly made a dull creak and shattered the gates, continuing to reach me. In one of the roots, is a magician whom I am most familiar with.

I saw him, I saw Gil-sama behind the collapsing gates. He found me and moved his lips to say, I will definitely save you, Origa.

I heard those words many times.

It was the long-awaited dialog between the hero and the villain which I’ve read over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again.

I can’t help but laugh as I realized that those words will be said in this way.

This is my last chance.

This is what the owner of that arm in my dream mean.

“Origa” will not die here.

“….Keika. Burn them down.”

I muttered while a smile crept up my lips. The surrounding young fire mages, upon hearing those words, roared out their battle cry.

Seeing as she was not moving, I placed my hand on her shoulder for reassurance. She then began to circulate her mana around to help me.

My inability to use magecraft is certain at this point. But even so, if I would have to dye my body with my own crimson blood right now, I won’t hesitate with my decision.

She has been with me for a long time now, so she knows how I practice my magic. Even if it’s difficult, it won’t take long for Keika to be familiar with my magic circuits.

As my mana flowed out, I heard the fire mages around instructed me to where they plan to attack. Keika shook her head as she heard it.

“What the hell-”

“Follow me!”

Keika shuddered while circulating her mana towards me. With her help, I was able to create a raging fire and hit the person creating the mist. A muffled sound was heard when my target was hit and the surrounding mist began to dissipate.

As the fire mages continued to stand down in front, the tree roots from before slyly crept up to them and slammed them one by one.

The mages looked at me and compared the intensity of the flame Keika and I have created with the flames I have used to defeat my father from the inheritance succession.

We took a step forward. Keika patted my back with my hair as we struggle to continue forward. With each step we take, the final barrier they have set up in the mansion, slowly crumbles to the ground.

With heavy steps, we struggled to move forward. Nobody tried to stop us.

The tree roots that have been summoned and tangled in the gates have turned to ashes. The mist that is slowly dissipating contained ash and soot as they slowly fell to the ground.

However, through the ash and soot in the air, I saw that person. He didn’t use any magic anymore. His clear round eyes fixated at my approaching figure.

“It looks like you have recovered greatly, Atlas-sama. What business do you have with me today?”

Standing in front of a beaten up gate, Atlas furrowed his brows at me and hit Gil-sama’s back.

Surprised, Gil-sama yelped and grabbed the gate to prevent his fall then he asks if my injury is alright.

I nod silently and stared at his beautiful green eyes that started to cloud as he reaches out to take my hand.

* *The [] on the following dialogues means that those are said in the novel that “she” have read.

[“Let’s go, Origa. Nothing can be changed even if you stay here.”]

“Let’s go, Origa. Nothing will change even if you stay here.”

Ah. As expected.

It’s exactly what Gil-sama had said.

How many times have I read this dialogue?

How long have I been waiting for that exact line?

The words of salvation from his lips, words of warmth and promise to never leave his sister behind.

“If you stay here, you’ll just be killed. I don’t want you to die, Origa. I want you to live and be happy.”

“…Why do you care so much about me?”

“How can I leave you be when I know I can help you? You are my little sister!”

Ah.

These are the words that “I” have been longing to hear.

This is why I have to follow the novel’s script.

“Do you have any idea who I am? I am the country’s final defence line, the head of the Luzil clan. Even if the flam clan has been defeated, we will not be mocked and take your pity.

I saw a fiery blaze razing the fields in my mind.

[“I am the head of the Luzil clan. My role is to lead the clan until my last breath.”]

“Leave me be. Even if I have lost my powers, I am still the Luzil clan head. My job is to lead the clan until I die.”

Standing proud in the blazing fields is a wounded young girl.

[“I live for the clan and die for the country. With measly powers you have, are you strong enough to change the tides?”]

“I live for the clan and vowed to die for the country. Are you prepared enough to change the tides?”

A young man screaming to save a little girl.

[“Hundreds of my brethren. Are you willing to throw your lives for me?”]

“Hundreds of my brethren, Am I strong enough for you to throw your lives for me?”

And the mountain of corpse the little girl steps on.

[“My heart cannot be swayed if anyone will not betray me.”]

“My heart cannot be swayed by anyone who cannot abandon someone.”

My lips slowly drew an arc after I said those words.

Such scene may not be re-enacted like the original, since the story continued to change every moment.

The girl looks up and speaks with a volume that can be heard by everyone.

Only this time, “I” am speaking.

“I have slayed those who committed sins, those who are innocent, those who rebel, those who don’t resist, those who are noble, anyone, and everyone who stands in my way, in ways that you have thought about and in ways much worse than you think. You wish for my happiness? If you save me now, you will kill many more in the future. You will bear the sins of their death.”

I told him how stupid his desire was, and even felt like a heavy burden has been lifted off my chest.

As I narrated all my acts, Gil-sama looked horrified and doubtful as he looked towards Atlas.

Atlas in turn could not rebut all that I have said.

Since everything that I have said, and many more, are all the sins I committed.

An unbearable laughter came from my mouth. My laughter continued for a long while and echoed throughout everywhere.

Only my laughter is heard in this sea of ash and soot while everyone else is dead silent.

I am the demon that needs to be slayed.

Even if he loses powers, he can compensate it by working harder.

As long as the hero kills the villain, he will bring the light of salvation to the country and peace will reign.

The symbol of the old era, the center of the world’s hate.

If Gil-sama knows what atrocious deeds I have committed, only then will he be able to kill me.

Use the death of the evil person as a stepping stone to set peace to the world.

“If there is nothing else, I will return to my room. Atlas-sama, please go back. If you need anything else, feel free to send someone to me.”

Nobody reached out as I went back in the mansion. Yes. Nobody.

TL Notes: rrreEEEEEEEEEE Origa stop torturing yourself TT_TT

By 猛美ゆう

Hello, the name's Yuu. Just your average lazy translator. I can't update every month but I will try giving you decent enough translations :]

8 replies on “Part 3 – She who mourns”

i don’t think that’s the case, she is the woman who do everything for the sake his own favorite novel even if she must dirty her own hand.. even if she let him save her, what would happen is the situation would much worse than now. she can’t let that happen even if she want that.

Like

Isn’t it pretty clear already ? She playing Zero’s Requiem. As the the leader or Lulzi (lol) clan,and the strongest mage of her era, she’s the symbol of old era and its total dependency on mages. God (author) ‘s word confirmed that as long as Origa alive, her mere existence is enough to cause discord as people will continue to cling on that. The only way Gil can forge new future is to tore down the old way, and there is NO way more finality than stepping over Origa’s dead body. At least, that’s what Origa wholeheartedly believe. As a rabid fan of the original novel and Gil-sama, the MC tried her damnedest to reaching that conclusion.

Like

Leave a comment